Latest news on your fingertips

Candidates to replace Justin Langer as Australia’s head coach

These are some of the individuals that are capable of coaching Team Australia, following Justin Langer’s confirmation of his departing.

Justin Langer acknowledged his resignation as the veteran head coach stands down from his role, leaving the formidable and dominant Australian senior men without a coach in command. Here are some of the people who might be considered for the position of head coach for Australia’s national team.

      image courtesy: cricketaus/twitter

Andrew McDonald: Following Justin Langer’s departure, Andrew is now the interim coach of Team Australia. Andrew, who grew up in Victoria, coached Team Australia during the last white-ball series when Justin Langer was unavailable. Andrew is now managing teams in abroad T20 competitions, but would gladly give up his current position in the T20 franchises to coach the national squad.

    image courtesy: cricketaus/twitter

Trevor Bayliss: 2015 Ashes win by team England was coached by Trevor who also helped team England to win their 2019 ODI World Cup title. Trevor is supposedly in Australia as he coaching team Thunders in Sydney and is also in various other T20 leagues. Trevor shares a close relationship with the captain in charge Pat Cummins as both of them are from Penrith. Trevor believes that the Australian head coach role would be the only role he will be looking for in international cricket.

      image courtesy: englandcricket/twitter

Jason Gillespie: Jason was suggested after Darren Lehmann quit the role, citing ball-tampering scandal in the Australian cricket but the role was later assigned to Justin Langer. He was also linked to England team in 2019. If the former cricketer is not assigned the role by team Australia, England would likely look for him to replace the empty position of head coach as Chris Silverwood departs.

image courtesy: strikersbbl/twitter

Ricky Pointing: One of the best in the world Ricky Pointing is one of the suggested candidates to replace Justin Langer as the head coach for team Australia. Fans might certainly feel the presence of Ricky’s era as the former captain has also coached IPL team Delhi Capitals with a stunning commitment. Earlier Ricky worked as an assistant to coach Langer as the veteran batsman believes in taking shorter roles as the workload of the head coaching role might not suit his personal life.

image courtesy: cricketaus/twitter

Greg Shipperd: The successful career in Australian domestic career for a longer period has impacted Greg’s career as the foreigner has created a remarkable presence of himself in the country. Coaching the Big Bash League teams and domestic cricket has surely helped Greg to bond close relationships with Australian players which can be an important aspect of selecting a head coach for the team.

image credits: sixersbbl/twitter

Michael Di Venuto: Michael is one of the currently working assistants alongside Andrew McDonald and Jeff Vaughan who can be preferred as he has been involved with Australian cricket since 2013, being the batting coach in and out for the team. Michael certainly took the responsibility under pressure after Justin Langer seemed to lose grip during the T20 World Cup win.

image credits: MjDiVa5/twitter

Australia is playing with their interim coach for the ongoing series against Sri Lanka. The Dettol T20 Series vs Sri Lanka is presented with these team squads :

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Mahesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Shiran Fernando.

The games are scheduled on :
February 11 – First T20 at SCG (7:10 pm AEDT) – Australia won by 20 runs (DLS Method)
February 13 – Second T20 at SCG (7:10 pm AEDT) – Australia won the Super Over
February 15 – Third T20 at Manuka Oval (7:10 pm AEDT) – To be played
February 18 – Fourth T20 at MCG (7:10 pm AEDT) – To be played
February 20 – Fifth T20 at MCG (7:10 pm AEDT) – To be played

The official broadcasting partners are Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports while ABC Grandstand will be covering the game over Radio.