Latest news on your fingertips

Orange Cap holders in the history of IPL

The 15th edition of the IPL is just around the corner as we look back at orange cap holders in the history of the tournament so far

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an Indian Twenty20 cricket tournament. At the end of each season, the tournament honours players with a variety of awards. Orange Cap,

The IPL’s leading run scorer is honoured with the Orange Cap. It debuted on April 25, 2008, just one week after the IPL’s maiden season began. During the course of the season, the batsman who scored the most runs in the tournament would wear the Orange Cap while fielding, with the overall leading run-scorer at the end of the tournament receiving the actual Orange Cap award on the day of the season’s final. The Orange Cap was initially worn by Brendon McCullum, and the honour was first won by Shaun Marsh. David Warner has won the cap three times, while Chris Gayle has won it twice. In a single edition of the tournament, Kohli scored the most runs (973) in the 2016 IPL.

The 15th edition of the IPL is just around the corner as we look back at orange cap holders in the history of the tournament so far:

Shaun Marsh, Kings XI Punjab
616 runs at 66.84.(2008)
The Western Australian left-handed batsman wowed the league with a century and five half-centuries. Marsh carved his way on the orange cap holders list with a healthy strike-rate of 139.68. Marsh made his limited-overs debut for the national team the same year as his triumph in the IPL.

Matthew Hayden, 572 runs at 52.00. Chennai Super Kings – 2009
After smashing 572 runs, the robust opener became the second Australian to claim the orange cap.

Sachin Tendulkar, 618 runs at 47.53. Mumbai Indians – 2010
At the end of the IPL 2010, Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian to wear the orange cap. Tendulkar went on to smash a record 1562 runs in Tests, making him the top run scorer in the calendar year.

Chris Gayle, 608 runs at 67.55. 733 runs at 61.08 Royal Challengers Bangalore , 2011 – 2012
after three years of routine with KKR Gayle’s fortunes in the IPL changed dramatically as a result of his new franchise, and it was an event to remember. Because of his big-hitting abilities, the dynamic West Indian opener quickly became a fan favourite in Bangalore. With two century and three half-centuries, the Jamaican scored 608 runs in 12 innings.For the second year in a row, the ‘Gaylestrom’ struck again in the IPL, as if his fireworks in 2011 weren’t enough. Gayle’s success earned him a full deal with RCB ahead of the fourth edition due to his brilliance. Gayle broke the 700-run barrier, cementing his place in the IPL’s history.

Michael Hussey, 733 runs at 52.35. Chennai Super kings – 2013
Hussey ended the season with six half-centuries.

Robin Uthappa, 660 runs at 44.00. Kolkata Knight Riders – 2014
In the seventh edition, Robin Uthappa’s consistency paid off as he topped the run charts in 2014, with a string of eight 40+ scores and five fifties.

David Warner, Sunrisers Hyderabad
2015 , 2017 , 2019
In the IPL’s history, David Warner has won the Orange Cap the most times (three). In IPL 2019, he also scored the most runs (692 at an average of 69.20 and a strike rate of 143.86). In the 2017 and 2015 editions of the Indian Premier League, he was also the highest run scorer (IPL).

Virat Kohli, 973 runs at 81.08. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 2016
At the end of the 2016 season, The RCB captain continued to smash record after record, Kohli’s voracious desire for runs resulted in his scoring 973 runs in 16 games at a mind-boggling strike rate of 152.03, including four centuries – the most in a season – and seven fifties.

Kane Williamson, 735 runs at 52.50. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2018
Throughout the season, the New Zealand captain was at his best, scoring 735 runs at an average of 52.50 and hitting eight half-centuries. His batsmanship, combined with crucial bowling performances, allowed the then-defending champions reach the final for the second season in a row, only to be defeated by Chennai Super Kings.

KL Rahul, 670 runs at 55.83. Kings XI Punjab – 2020
KL Rahul, the KXIP captain and IPL 2020 Orange Cap champion, was in a class by himself. Despite just playing 14 games, the right-hander amassed 670 runs in his team’s failure to make the playoffs. Consider this: Shikhar Dhawan, who finished second only to Rahul in terms of runs scored, played three more matches and still scored 618. With a batting average of 55.83, the elegant right-hander established high expectations for himself and his teammates. His highest individual score of IPL 2020 was 132 off 69 balls against RCB.

Ruturaj Gaikwad

In the 2021 IPL, Gaikwad made his first IPL century, scoring 101 not out against the Rajasthan Royals. Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the finals on October 15, with Gaikwad adding 32 runs off 27 balls to CSK’s total. In the 2021 competition, he earned the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs (635).