Latest news on your fingertips

The World Cup: List of all The Golden Ball Award winners

Here’s full list of all Golden Ball Award winning players.

The Golden Ball award, first handed in 1982, is given to the finest player in the FIFA World Cup event. The Golden Boot is given to the top goal scorer (or goal scorers). Since 1994, the Golden Gloves award has been granted to the tournament’s best goalie. The Best Young Player award is open to players under the age of 21.

The winner is chosen from a shortlist put out by the FIFA technical committee and voted on by media representatives.

Brazil has won seven times in a row.

Take a look at list of Golden Ball winners:

Year Golden Ball Winner Country
2018 Luka Modric Croatia
2014 Lionel Messi Argentina
2010 Diego Forlán Uruguay
2006 Zinedine ZIDANE France
2002 Oliver KAHN Germany
1998 RONALDO Brazil
1994 ROMÁRIO (Romário de Souza Faria) Brazil
1990 Salvatore SCHILLACI Italy
1986 Diego MARADONA Argentina
1982 Paolo ROSSI Italy
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands
1970 Pelé Brazil
1966 Bobby Charlton England
1962 Garrincha Brazil
1958 Didi Brazil
1954 Ferenc Puskás Hungary
1950 Zizinho Brazil
1938 Leônidas Brazil
1934 Giuseppe Meazza Italy
1930 José Nasazzi Uruguay