Latest news on your fingertips

Highest run chase in the IPL history

IPL history of successful high-scoring chases.

The engrossing top league Indian Premier League is taken with great pleasure by the fans all over the world, the solemn reason being the way a team keeps bashing the bowlers for 20 overs. The shortest format in the cricket world is watched with the expectations of high-run scoring games with numerous boundaries in the count. The roar of the crowd when the ball flights up in the sky and lands in the hands of thousands of match-lovers is one of the critical reasons why the Indian Premier League is watched passionately from all over the world.

The fans witness a delightful surprise when their respective loved team knocks for record-breaking scores but the real happiness for the fans and the players is when a higher run score is chased by their teams. Some of the IPL matches have witnessed a successful high-score run chase as the shortest format witnesses unforgettable games at times. The successful run chase in the second innings in the Indian Premier League talks about a record-breaking moment in its way.

Rajasthan Royals team successfully holds the record of the highest successful run chase in the history of IPL. The very first season of IPL 2008 witnessed the tournament winners Rajasthan Royals successfully chase a high-scoring target set by team Deccan Chargers in the 9th match of IPL, 2008. It took almost 12 years when this highest run chase record was broken and surprised Rajasthan Royals broke their record by successfully chasing down the target of 224 runs against Punjab Kings in IPL 2020.

Rajasthan Royals leads the record by chasing down the target of 224 runs against Punjab Kings in Sharjah on the 27th of September, 2020 where Mayank Agarwal’s ton was overshadowed by Sanju Samson’s knock of 85 runs in the second innings.

Mumbai Indians follow the list of the successful run chase in the high-scoring games by completing the target of 219 in the recent year of the Indian Premier League by winning against Chennai Super Kings in the year 2021. Kieron Pollard’s 87 not out off 34 balls helped team Mumbai to chase down the target.

The first-ever record was made by the record holders Rajasthan Royals itself when in IPL 2008 the fans witnessed the first season of IPL with an absolute victory of the winners of the first season. Rajasthan Royals chased down Deccan Charges by completing the target of 215 runs as Yusuf Pathan’s impact of 61 runs in just 28 balls helped team Rajasthan to chase down the target. Coincidentally both the record-breaking matches for Rajasthan were the 9th match of the respective IPL season.

One of the final games of the Indian Premier League witnessed a high scoring successful run chase in the year 2014 when Kolkata Knight Riders won the exciting finale against Punjab Kings ( Kings XI Punjab then) by chasing down the target of 200. Indian wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha’s stunning century was overshadowed by Manish Pandey’s critical 94-runs knock.

Team Delhi Capitals chased down their successful highest run-chase against Gujarat Lions in 2017 by chasing a target of 209 runs. Delhi scored 214 runs in the second innings with 15 balls left in the game. Rishabh Pant was awarded the Man of the Match award for scoring 97 runs which helped the team to win against the Gujarat Lions.

Punjab Kings chased down the target of 206 runs with a six. Punjab Kings scored 211 runs in the second innings in 2014 against team Sunrisers Hyderabad. Naman Ojha helped SRH to score 205 runs but Wriddhiman Saha and Glenn Maxwell helped Punjab Kings to chase down the target.

Chennai Super Kings chased a target with their highest second innings score against team Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2012 by chasing down the target of 206 runs. CSK once again chased down a similar target in 2018.

Royal Challengers Bangalore chased the target of 204 runs in just 18.5 overs by losing just 2 wickets Kallis dominated the game against Punjab Kings in 2010 by scoring 89 runs, standing not out with Virat Kohli.

Sunrisers Hyderabad of chasing their successful run chase tops with the match against team Rajasthan Royals in 2019. Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 198 runs in the first innings giving the target of 199 which SRH chased down by scoring 201 runs with an over left in the game.

The upcoming season of the Indian Premier League for the year 2022 will be hoping for another record-breaking successful run chase as the fans would be expecting their favourite teams to win the Indian Premier League with a massive win in all the games.