Latest news on your fingertips

Fifa Concacaf Qualifiers: Team of the Concacaf Nations Cup?

The Confederation of North, Central American, and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) qualifies its member countries for the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022 through the North, Central American, and Caribbean portion of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying (CONCACAF). For CONCACAF teams, there are three direct spots and one inter-confederation play-off spot in the final tournament.

Fifa Concacaf Qualifiers:Team of the Concacaf Nations Cup

In Its Original Form

CONCACAF unveiled a new World Cup qualification system on July 10th, 2019. Following a CONCACAF announcement in March 2018 that they will utilize the CONCACAF Ranking Index to determine the seeding of CONCACAF teams for international tournament qualification,[3] FIFA Rankings were determined to be used in its place.

Hexagonal Group Ranked First

Teams from CONCACAF’s top six divisions, as determined by FIFA’s June 2020 rankings, were to play home-and-away round-robin matches against each other (often referred to as the “Hexagonal”). Four teams would have qualified for the CONCACAF play-off round: the top three and the fourth-placed team.

Knockout Stage and Lower-seeded Group Stage

Seventy-five clubs from the CONCACAF region (ranked 7-35 by FIFA in June 2020) were to be drawn into eight groups and play home-and-away round-robin matches to determine the champion. As a result of winning their respective groups, each team would have progressed to a knockout stage that would see them play in a two-legged home and away series. There would have been a CONCACAF playoff round for the winner of the knockout round.

The Round of 16 Is the Last Round of the Tournament.

To proceed to the inter-confederation play-offs, the fourth-placed team from the Hexagonal group would have faced the winner of the knockout stage to advance.

Exactly How Many Teams From the Concacaf Region Will Compete?

Canada was the first CONCACAF nation to secure its spot in Qatar with a 4-0 win against Jamaica at home. The United States is presently in the second position in CONCACAF’s eight-team final qualification group, from which three teams will qualify automatically for Qatar 2022.

Process of Qualification

There are 211 FIFA member associations presently eligible to participate in qualifying. As hosts, Qatar was guaranteed a spot in the tournament. Due to this, Qatar had to compete in Asian qualifying, as the first two rounds also counted towards the 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualification process. As a result of Qatar’s group victory, the fifth-place finishers in their respective groups progressed instead. It will be the first time since the 1930 and 1934 tournaments that the World Cup will be held in a country that has never hosted a finals match in the tournament’s history.

Fifa Concacaf Qualifiers:Team of the Concacaf Nations Cup?

Qualifying continues to be open to all teams, including the defending World Cup champions France. However, Saint Lucia eventually withdrew from the CONCACAF qualification process. [5] Due to worries over the COVID-19 epidemic, North Korea also pulled out of the qualifying round. Withdrew before the OFC zone qualifying draw, as did American Samoa and Samoa; Tonga withdrew following the 2022 Hunga Tonga–Hunga Ha’apai eruption and tsunami. Vanuatu and Cook Islands also withdrew due to COVID-19 infections in their units.

The FIFA Executive Committee met in Zürich on 30 May 2015 to discuss the allocation of slots for each confederation following the FIFA Congress.

[6] The 2018 and 2022 tournaments will have the same allocation as the 2006, 2010, and 2014 tournaments.

Fifa World Cup 2022 Qualifying Teams

  1. Qatar
  2. Germany
  3. Denmark
  4. Brazil
  5. France
  6. Belgium
  7. Croatia
  8. Spain
  9. Serbia
  10. England
  11. Switzerland
  12. Argentina
  13. Netherlands
  14. Iran
  15. South Korea
  16. Japan
  17. Saudi Arabia
  18. Ecuador
  19. Uruguay
  20. Canada
  21. Portugal
  22. Poland
  23. Tunisia
  24. Morocco
  25. Ghana
  26. Senegal

Team Selections for the Fifa World Cup in 2022

Despite the fact that 2022 is a World Cup year, we won’t be able to view the largest international soccer competition until the winter. This November, Qatar will host the FIFA World Cup for the first time, with the opening match taking place on Nov. 21 and the final on Dec. 18. The bulk of the remaining World Cup slots will be filled during this international break.

Fifa Concacaf Qualifiers:Team of the Concacaf Nations Cup?

There are already 27 of the 32 seats filled out, with the final five spots from Africa being granted on Tuesday. Cameroon and Ghana are the only countries who have officially qualified for the World Cup. Cristiano Ronaldo and Portugal have qualified for Euro 2016 after overcoming North Macedonia (who stunned Italy last week) 2-0, while Robert Lewandowski and Poland have qualified after defeating Sweden by the same score.

READ MORE:UAE World Cup Qualifiers: Is the United Arab Emirates Participating in the World Cup?

With all four spaces reserved for South American CONMEBOL teams, Peru’s 2-0 victory over Paraguay on Tuesday night secured their place in the intercontinental playoffs. If they keep up their current form, they have a good chance of qualifying for back-to-back World Cups. After an almost four-decade absence, they qualified in 2018.

United States and Mexico are poised to join Canada in the semifinals of the Concacaf Cup on Wednesday.

Next year’s World Cup will be the final one with 32 teams before the expansion to 48 for the 2026 tournament in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Want more coverage of the United States’ journey to the Qatar World Cup? Qué Golazo! may be found by subscribing to our channel. Every day, we’ll take you beyond the field and throughout the world for discussion, previews, and recaps from the CBS Soccer Podcast.