Latest news on your fingertips

Pacific Sports News, FIBA Melanesian Basketball Championship, Rugby League World Cup 2025

  • Tonga and Fiji will meet Australia in the netball World Cup.
  • The draw for the 2023 Netball World Cup placed both of the Pacific’s teams in the same group.
  • Group B includes Oceania champions Tonga and Oceania runners-up Fiji, as well as 11-time winners Australia.
  • The fourth team in the group is Zimbabwe.
  • Group D includes holders New Zealand, Uganda, Trinidad & Tobago, and Singapore.
  • The tournament takes held in Cape Town, South Africa, between July 28 and August 6 of the following year.

Wahbi Khazri, Tunisia Soccer Player, Announce Retirement

Draw in full

Group A
Australia, Tonga, Zimbabwe, Fiji
Group B
England, Malawi, Scotland, Barbados
Group C
South Africa, Jamaica, Wales, Sri Lanka
Group D
New Zealand, Uganda, Trinidad, and Tobago, Singapore

Waqatabu will serve as the Pearls’ leader in Singapore

Next week’s 2022 Nations Cup will be held in Singapore, and the Fiji Pearls will be sending an experienced team to compete there.

The squad will be captained by the center Vaiti Waqatabu, and Unaisi Rauluni will serve as her vice-captain.

After spending some time playing rugby, Sereana Maragi is getting back into the swing of things in the world of netball.

Matila Vocea and Naviniya Sivo are both members of the squad. Vocea recently competed for Fiji in the FIBA Melanesian Basketball Championship. Sivo is also a member of the squad.

During the seven-day competition, which begins on Sunday, the Fiji Pearls will compete against teams from Botswana, Ireland, Malaysia, and Singapore.

Top Ten Hardest Sports :What Are the World’s Ten Most Difficult Sports?

Vivian Koster, the Chief Executive Officer of Netball Fiji, said in an interview with FBC Sports that the competition offers significant match play for the Pearls, particularly in the build-up to the 2023 World Cup, which will be held in South Africa.

The Kukis learn the necessary routes to qualify for the Rugby League World Cup

The Cook Islands will play an African team in order to qualify for the Rugby League World Cup for men in 2025.

In the inter-regional repechage, the Kukis have been drawn with the winner of the 2023 Middle East and Africa Cup, which includes South Africa, Nigeria, and Ghana.

Samoa, Fiji, Tonga, and Papua New Guinea qualified for 2025 by advancing to at least the quarterfinals of this year’s competition in England.

Women’s rugby league teams from the Cook Islands have already qualified for the Women’s Rugby League World Cup in France.

PNG has already qualified, but Fiji, Samoa, and Tonga will battle for the last two berths.

Wahbi Khazri, Tunisia Soccer Player, Announce Retirement